it could have been us…

I know I haven’t put anything on here for ages…and why I hear you ask – you are retired – your time is your own and how can you pretend to be practicing your craft if you don’t write anything!

C’est la vie – that’s me  – one time small, dainty and thin would be writer, now rather lazy and on the large side hasn’t written a word for months sort of person!

But here is something to tell you…it started as one of my,  with hindsight, less than good ideas; a four day coach trip to go on the famous trains in the Alps – the Glacier Express and the Bernina Express. And this would have been the story of the coach trip from hell… then two days ago, the very same train we were on just two weeks ago,  was derailed by a landslide and some coaches thrown down a ravine – people were badly injured and airlifted off by helicopter and the tourists who could walk, tramped away from the horrific scene back down the line. So how could I moan about the low cloud, rain and not seeing the wonderful views?

IMG_3549 IMG_2361

 

And my quote for this week has absolutely nothing to do with the Alps or swiss trains –

“the mill will never grind again with water that is past.”

This comes from The Water Mill by Sarah Doudney 1843 – 1926

http://www.rainydaypoems.com/poems-teachers-ask-for/doudney-sarah-the-water-mill.html

and many thanks to my  friend in the Lakes for introducing me to this poem. If you need a change of reading matter I would recommend you sit somewhere with a cuppa and read it gently outloud – the words like ‘languidly’ and ‘garnered’ and phrases like ‘but never glideth back again’ just serve to remind us how beautiful our English language is.  And the rhythm and flow and the way the poem rhymes – sounds so easy to do – but oh so difficult to do – especially to do so that it does not sound false and contrived.

And from Emily Dickenson..

“If I can stop one heart from breaking I shall not live in vain, if I can ease one life the aching or cool one pain, or help one fainting robin into his nest again, I shall not live in vain.”

IMG_0278

and to finish – I just couldn’t resist putting his statue in my blog! No prizes for guessing who or where it is, but I wonder why?

 

 

Leave a Reply

