autumn ish

IMG_2434

these are possibly called petit marrons or potimorons. They are like small pumpkins but, I believe, totally different in taste and texture. Don’t know what we’ll be doing with them tho’

So there you have it, I am back to the blog after a lovely summer – sometime in Provence, sometime near the Med at Valras Plage along with the mosquitoes that finally drove us back to Provence – a little too much eating and drinking, and lots of relaxing and sitting in the shade knitting! oh yes and some swimming in the campsite pool – not bad eh?IMG_0379

Now the grass is cut, the washing and ironing done and life will get back to its simple and usual rhythm. I will make lists of things to do and then feel cross when I don’t do anything on them – so I will add what I have done on to the bottom and then cross them off!

I will sit here in the loft and pretend I am a writer – writing long rambling emails to friends and I will potter about thinking about sewing something… or knitting cashmere dog coats for the french and their bijou dogs and selling them online…

I will waste time reading old poems I wrote way back when… and the time will pass pleasantly enough – oh yes – bring on the autumn and winter – but not too quickly!

And at the end of October we shall go back to the UK and re aquaint ourselves with our family – the daughters we abandoned to become expats.. and the gorgeous grandchildren.

And in between…well watch this space – who knows?

IMG_2424 IMG_0383

I just love eating outside…and well, there’s always the sea. This is the beach at Givrand near St Gilles Croix de Vie on the vendee. There’s miles and miles of it!

 

2 thoughts on “autumn ish”

  1. I look forward to receiving my long and rambling email from you!!! We are très occupé with work (why am I working such long hours?!) but life is still good. Have just had a long and slightly too boozy-for-a-Saturday-afternoon lunch with a friend and her children. Where HAS the day gone?!

  2. There has to be a consolation for being oldish – and being retired whilst still in good health is most definitely it! Now after a long lunch it must be siesta time..enjoy your weekend…

Leave a Reply

